Skip to Main Content

The Winter Sea

From New York Times  bestselling author Susanna Kearsley...

History has all but forgotten the spring of 1708, when an invasion fleet of French and Scottish soldiers nearly succeeded in landing the exiled James Stewart in Scotland to reclaim his crown.

Now, writer Carrie McClelland hopes to turn that story into her next bestselling novel. Settling herself in the shadow of Slains Castle, she creates a heroine named for one of her own ancestors, and starts to write.
But when she discovers her novel is more fact than fiction, Carrie wonders if she might be dealing with ancestral memory...making her the only living person who can know the truth of what did happen all those years ago - a tale of love and loyalty...and ultimate betrayal.

Praise for The Winter Sea

'Sometimes an author catches lightning in a bottle, and Susanna Kearsley has done just that' The New York Journal of Books

'Perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series' 49th Shelf

'‘A deeply-engaging romance and a compelling historical novel...Susanna Kearsley has written a marvellous book' BERNARD CORNWELL, author of The Burning Land

'Kearsley’s obvious love of history is infectious' GAIL ANDERSON-DARGATZ, author of A Recipe for Bees

'A terrific read, evocative and romantic' NICOLA CORNICK, author of The Scandals of an Innocent

'An epic romance for an epic season, by one of Canada’s best historical-fiction writers' The Globe and Mail, Seven Books That Might Make You a Winter Person

'A sweeping historical fantasy novel about love, danger and time travel. Susana Kearsley masterfully weaves Scotland's past into the present in this stunning read' The Kit
 

Photo by Wendy McAlpine

Susanna Kearsley is a New York Times, USA TODAY, and Globe and Mail bestselling author and former museum curator who loves restoring the lost voices of real people to the page, interweaving historical intrigue with modern suspense. Her books, published in translation in more than twenty countries, have won the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize, RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards, a RITA Award, and National Readers’ Choice Awards, and have finaled for the UK’s Romantic Novel of the Year and the Crime Writers of Canada’s Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel. She lives near Toronto. Visit her at SusannaKearsley.com or follow her on Twitter @SusannaKearsley.

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (September 16, 2021)
  • Length: 544 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471196072