Skip to Main Content

About The Book

‘Fascinating and immersive… I love a novel that deals with the many ways in which people keep their secrets’ DIANA GABALDON
A sweeping love story set against the Jacobite revolution from much-loved, million copy bestselling author Susanna Kearsley

Autumn, 1707. Old enemies from the Highlands to the Borders are protesting the new Union with England. As the French prepare an invasion to bring the exiled Jacobite king back to Scotland to reclaim his throne, the streets of Edinburgh are filled with discontent. To calm the situation, Queen Anne’s commissioners are settling the losses and wages owed to those Scots involved in the disastrous Darien expedition eight years earlier.

When Lily, widow of a Darien sailor, comes forward to collect his wages, her claim is challenged. One of the men assigned to her case has only days to decide if she’s honest. Are his own feelings making him blind to the truth? Or could he be a pawn in an even more treacherous game?

A story of intrigue, adventure, endurance, romance…and the courage to hope.

‘A hugely engrossing book and a complete world created’ IAN RANKIN

‘The Vanished Days is an absolute tour de force of historical storytelling, tender and dramatic, gripping and authentic. Kearsley manages effortlessly to balance the epic sweep of the drama with telling moments of gentle characterization, all delivered in pitch-perfect style. I thoroughly enjoyed it: a perfect escape in these dark days’ JANE JOHNSON, author of The Salt Road and The Tenth Gift

‘An engrossing and deeply romantic novel of Scotland’s Jacobite rebellion’ RACHEL HORE

‘This novel tells of a tender love story set amid the Jacobite rebellion. For readers unfamiliar with the twists and turns of this period of Scottish history, author Kearsley provides a helpful map, along with rich details of the protagonists. Courage in this era lies not in acts of heroic daring, but in steadfast pursuit of truth and justice. Perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander’ WOMAN & HOME

About The Author

Photo by Wendy McAlpine

New York Times, USA TODAY, and Globe and Mail bestselling author Susanna Kearsley is a former museum curator who loves restoring the lost voices of real people to the page, often in twin-stranded stories that interweave present and past. Her award-winning novels are published in translation in more than twenty-five countries. She lives near Toronto.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (March 16, 2023)
  • Length: 560 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471196041

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for Susanna Kearsley's books:

‘A thrilling, haunting and deeply romantic story powerfully told by an engaging heroine…enchanting and beautifully evoked.’
RACHEL HORE

'I've loved every one of her books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly's delicate touch with characters?sure recipe for historical fiction that sucks you in and won't let go!'
DIANA GABALDON, bestselling author of Outlander

‘A deeply-engaging romance and a compelling historical novel... a marvellous book.’
BERNARD CORNWELL

'The Vanished Days exhibits Kearsley's ability to deftly balance dual time lines to great dramatic effect, right up to the twist of an ending... this book stands on its own and will find an eager audience among fans of romantic historical fiction' Booklist

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Susanna Kearsley