Shakespeare's Sword

LIST PRICE £8.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
About The Book

From the author of Legacy, now a major BBC Film, comes a brilliant new historical crime novella for fans of Antonia Hodgson and CJ Sansom.

‘To Mr Thomas Combe my sword.’  These six words in Shakespeare’s will tell us that Shakespeare had a sword. Did he wear it?  Did he use it?  What sort was it?  When and why did he get it?  What happened to it?  Might it – does it – still exist?
 
These questions plague Simon Gold, an antiques dealer.  He believes he has identified the sword as belonging to a customer, an unworthy owner indifferent to cultural icons and uninterested in history.  Simon is desperate to acquire the sword, but how?  How far is he prepared to go to get it?  In alliance with Charlotte, his customer’s attractive and disaffected wife, Simon finds himself going farther than he had intended - and finds, too, that Charlotte is rather more than she appears.

Praise for Alan Judd:

'Judd has an infallible grasp of intelligence' Spectator
'Wonderful. One of the best spy novels ever' Peter Hennessey on Legacy 
'Plotting in the best le Carré tradition' Mail on Sunday
'Belongs to the classic tradition of spy writing' Guardian

About The Author
Photograph © Colin Bell

Alan Judd is a novelist and biographer who has previously served in the army and the Foreign Office. Chosen as one of the original twenty Best Young British Novelists, he subsequently won the Royal Society of Literature's Winifred Holtby Award, the Heinemann Award and the Guardian Fiction Award; he was also shortlisted for the Westminster Prize. He is currently the Spectator's motoring correspondent and a comment writer for the Daily Telegraph. He lives in Sussex with his wife and daughter.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (December 2018)
  • Length: 192 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471178191
Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Alan Judd