Skip to Main Content

About The Book

From #1 bestselling author Genevieve Graham comes a gripping novel set in Toronto and Vietnam during the turbulent sixties about two women caught up in powerful social movements and the tragedy that will bring them together—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Women.

Toronto, 1967. Two young women with different backgrounds, attitudes, and aptitudes are living in an exciting but confusing time, the most extreme counter-culture movement the modern world has ever seen. They have little in common except for the place they both call home: an apartment building on Isabella Street.

Marion Hart, a psychiatrist working in Toronto’s foremost mental institution, is fighting deinstitutionalization—the closing of major institutions in favour of community-based centres—because she believes it could one day cause major homelessness. When Alex Neumann, a vet with a debilitating wound, is admitted to the mental institution, Marion will learn through him that there is so much more to life than what she is living.

Sassy Rankin, a budding folk singer and carefree hippy from a privileged family, joins protests over the Vietnam War and is devastated that her brother chose to join the US Marines. At the same time, she must deal with the truth that her comfortable life is financed by her father, a real estate magnate bent on gentrifying the city, making it unaffordable for many of her friends.

The strength of their unlikely friendship means that when one grapples with a catastrophic event, the other must do all she can to make it right.

Inspired by the unfettered optimism and crushing disillusionment of the sixties, On Isabella Street is an extraordinary novel about the enduring bonds of friendship and family and the devastating cost of war.

About The Author

Photograph by Nicola Davison, Snickerdoodle Photography

Genevieve Graham is the USA TODAY and #1 bestselling author of twelve novels, including The Secret KeeperThe Forgotten Home Child, which has been optioned for TV; Letters Across the Sea; and Bluebird. She is passionate about breathing life back into history through tales of love and adventure. She lives in Alberta. Visit her at GenevieveGraham.com or on X and Instagram @GenGrahamAuthor.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (April 22, 2025)
  • Length: 384 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982197025

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Graham is the reigning queen of historical fiction about Canada, and The Secret Keeper is her most sweeping, searing story yet, an intricate tale of the Canadian women of World War II, many of whom were sworn to keep their wartime heroics secret. A riveting historical tale of sisterhood, sacrifice, love, and war, it will change the way you look at twentieth-century history.”
KRISTIN HARMEL, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Daughter

“Thrilling and heartfelt, The Secret Keeper showcases the oft-forgotten contributions of Canadian women to the war effort through twin sisters Dot and Dash, whose commitments to serve put them at odds with their commitments to each other. With a particularly heart-pounding third act, The Secret Keeper is Genevieve Graham at her masterful best.”
BRYN TURNBULL, internationally bestselling author of The Paris Deception

“A riveting tale of the steadfast bond between sisters in the midst of wartime adventure. In Dot and Dash’s extraordinary journey, Genevieve Graham vividly captures the courageous heroics of women in WWII.”
PAULLINA SIMONS, internationally bestselling author of Light at Lavelle and The Bronze Horseman

“Genevieve Graham never fails to fascinate with incredible stories of Canada’s past . . . A sweeping novel about the bonds between sisters and the burden of secrets in a time of war, it will thrill and charm readers in equal measure.”
JULIA KELLY, internationally bestselling author of The Lost English Girl

“Another moving and inspiring work of historical fiction from Genevieve Graham . . . brimming with heart, sisterhood, sacrifice, and romance. . . .Graham deftly captures the emotional and physical toll of war on the home front, while beautifully illustrating the capacity for human resilience, camaraderie, and connection inside us all.”
NATALIE JENNER, internationally bestselling author of Every Time We Say Goodbye

“Genevieve Graham unveils the strength of Canada’s women in their efforts during WWII with her incredible research. Dash and Dot are intrepid heroines you’ll want to root for . . . a story you won’t want to put down.”
MADELINE MARTIN, New York Times bestselling author of The Keeper of Hidden Books

“Reading a Genevieve Graham novel is like reading a love letter to Canada. In The Secret Keeper, impressive research, tender family dynamics, and an absorbing plot intertwine to pay homage to the quiet heroes of the Second World War.”
ELLEN KEITH, bestselling author of The Dutch Orphan

“[T]ouching and harrowing. Graham masterfully and lovingly recreates the lives of two women engaged in wartime service, capturing their youthful idealism, sense of duty, and sheer energy. You will follow the adventures of sisters Dot and Dash with your heart in your mouth. Not to be missed!”
IONA WHISHAW, bestselling author of To Track a Traitor

“Genevieve Graham once again takes a deep dive into the world of women at war with Dot and Dash, twin sisters from Oshawa, who overcome male prejudice to make a massive contribution to the defeat of evil. Vivid characterizations and pinpoint research bring that dangerous—yet exciting—world alive. And though it is not the focus, there’s a fine examination of love-under-fire too.”
C.C. HUMPHREYS, award-winning author of Someday I’ll Find You and Plague

“Genevieve Graham expertly takes us deep into the top secret world of WWII codebreaking and aviation in this thrilling and imaginative story. I fell in love with Dot and Dash from the get-go.”
SARA ACKERMAN, bestselling author of The Unchartered Flight of Olivia West

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Genevieve Graham