Skip to Main Content

About The Book

From the bestselling author of The Psalm Killer and The Butchers of Berlin 

'One of Britain's most visionary writers' David Peace

A breath-taking contemporary thriller for readers of Robert Harris, John le Carré​ and Martin Cruz Smith

When a government minister is shot there are many suspects but few leads. Days before the attempted assassination, Charlotte Waites, a Home Office analyst, dismissed a crucial intel flag and now has to account for her actions. Dragged into a web of intrigue that will draw in everybody from the prime minister to her ailing father, she must try to get the bottom of the mystery while confronting dark secrets from her family's past. 

Complex, gripping and deftly-handled, Ghost Country is work of staggering imagination that, from Northern Ireland to Covid, looks at the complexities of Britain's recent history and distils them into an unforgettable literary thriller. 

About The Author

Chris Petit has written a trio of acclaimed "beyond black" political thrillers covering a serial killer operating in sectarian Northern Ireland (The Psalm Killer); dirty money in World War II (The Human Pool); and terror, arms trading and the bombing of a civilian aircraft (The Passenger); as well as The Butchers of Berlin which also features the characters Schlegel and Morgen. He is an internationally renowned filmmaker.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (April 28, 2022)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471188763

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Chris Petit