Skip to Main Content

You Can't See Me

The twisty, breathtaking prequel to the international bestselling Forbidden Iceland series…

Translated by Victoria Cribb
Published by Orenda Books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

A wealthy Icelandic family gathers for a reunion in a remote hotel on the isolated lava fields, but when someone goes missing, dark secrets are exposed and everyone is a suspect … the chilling, gripping prequel to the addictive, award-winning Forbidden Iceland series…

‘A country house mystery worthy of Agatha Christie’ The Times Crime Book of the Month

‘As storms rage, people fall prey to a sinister figure. A canny synthesis of modern Nordic Noir and Golden Age mystery’ Financial Times

'In a Forbidden Iceland novel, there's no terrain more treacherous than the mind … a deep-dark thriller to read with the lights on' A J Finn

'Riveting, exciting, entertaining and packed with intrigue … like Succession on ice' Liz Nugent

**WINNER of the STORYTEL AWARD for Crime Book of the Year***


The wealthy, powerful Snæberg clan has gathered for a family reunion at a futuristic hotel set amongst the dark lava flows of Iceland's remote Snæfellsnes peninsula.

Petra Snæberg, a successful interior designer, is anxious about the event, and her troubled teenage daughter, Lea, whose social-media presence has attracted the wrong kind of followers. Ageing carpenter Tryggvi is an outsider, only tolerated because he's the boyfriend of Petra's aunt, but he's struggling to avoid alcohol because he knows what happens when he drinks … Humble hotel employee, Irma, is excited to meet this rich and famous family and observe them at close quarters … perhaps too close…

As the weather deteriorates and the alcohol flows, one of the guests disappears, and it becomes clear that there is a prowler lurking in the dark.

But is the real danger inside … within the family itself?

Masterfully cranking up the suspense, Eva Björg Ægisdóttir draws us into an isolated, frozen setting, where nothing is as it seems and no one can be trusted, as the dark secrets and painful pasts of the Snæberg family are uncovered … and the shocking truth revealed.

Succession meets And Then There Were None … A Golden Age mystery for the 21st Century, with a shocking twist.


'A tense, twisty page-turner that you'll have serious trouble putting down' Catherine Ryan Howard

'Your new Nordic Noir obsession' Vogue

'Confirms Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir as a leading light of Icelandic noir … a master of misdirection' The Times

Praise for the Forbidden Iceland series

**Winner of the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger**
**Shortlisted for the Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime**
**Shortlisted for the CWA Crime in Translation Dagger**
**Shortlisted for the Capital Crime Award for Best Thriller**

'Chilling and addictive, with a completely unexpected twist … I loved it' Shari Lapena

'Beautifully written … one of the rising stars of Nordic Noir'
Victoria Selman

'Fans of Nordic Noir will love this' Ann Cleeves

'Eerie and chilling. I loved every word!' Lesley Kara

'Creepily compelling' Heidi Amsinck

'Elma is a memorably complex character' Financial Times

'Exciting and harrowing' Ragnar Jónasson

'Fantastic' Sunday Times

'So atmospheric' Heat

About The Author

Photograph © Orenda Books

Born in Akranes in 1988, Eva moved to Trondheim, Norway to study her MSc in Globalisation when she was 25. After moving back home having completed her MSc, she knew it was time to start working on her novel. Eva has wanted to write books since she was 15 years old, having won a short story contest in Iceland. Eva worked as a stewardess to make ends meet while she wrote her first novel, The Creak on the Stairs. The book went on to win the CWA Debut Dagger, the Blackbird Award, was shortlisted (twice) for the Capital Crime Readers' Awards, and became a number one bestseller in Iceland. The critically acclaimed Girls Who Lie (book two in the Forbidden Iceland series) soon followed, with Night Shadows (book three) following suit in July 2022. Eva lives with her husband and three children in Reykjavík.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Orenda Books (July 6, 2023)
  • Length: 300 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781914585722

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Eva Björg Ægisdóttir

More books in this series: Forbidden Iceland