Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Tell and Wren flee Halfway only to face their village’s wrath in this second book in the middle grade fantasy series that’s Howl’s Moving Castle meets Neil Gaiman!

Siblings Tell and Wren barely escaped the treacherous city of Halfway with their lives, two new friends, and an unconscious sorcerer. With a massive bounty on their heads if they ever return, Tell and Wren have no choice but to return to their village…despite the punishment surely awaiting them for venturing outside their icy mountain home.

But treacherous power plays brew amongst the Villagers, and our heroes once again find themselves in the middle of a civil war, one that takes an almost deadly toll on the siblings. It also reveals an astonishing secret about Wren: she has magic, powerful magic. This startling revelation, combined with disturbing dreams that plague Rumi, drag the four back into Halfway, the very place they’re forbidden from entering upon penalty of death.

About The Author

Photograph (c) Ginger D. Nunzio

Anthony (Tony) Peckham is a South African–born screenwriter, surfer, and farmer who now lives on an island in the Pacific. Decades ago, while exploring a remote, high-altitude landscape with his children, he came upon a mountain made of black glass which inspired his debut novel. His other work includes Clint Eastwood’s Invictus and Guy Ritchie’s Sherlock Holmes. He is a Writers Guild of America Award winner and an NAACP Image Award nominee. Tony is the author of the Children of the Black Glass middle grade series.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books (January 21, 2025)
  • Length: 256 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665913188
  • Ages: 10 - 14

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Anthony Peckham

More books in this series: Children of the Black Glass