Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Illustrated by Becka Moor
LIST PRICE £6.99

About The Book

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...
When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth…
With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

Praise for the Violet series:
'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' The Times
'Effortlessly gorgeous' Moontrug
'An adventure brimful of charm, told with brio and a good deal of panache…Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps
'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language… Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah
'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

About The Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient was her first children’s book and the first in a series, followed by Violet and the Hidden Treasure, and Violet and the Smugglers.

About The Illustrator

Becka Moor studied illustration in the North of Wales at Glyndwr University. She has since moved back home to Manchester where she works under the strict supervision of two very mischievous cats, doodling away and drinking far too much coffee.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (August 2014)
  • Length: 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471118968
  • Ages: 7 - 99

Browse Related Books

More books from this author: Harriet Whitehorn

More books from this illustrator: Becka Moor