The Worst Princess

Illustrated by Sara Ogilvie
LIST PRICE £6.99

About The Book

Once upon a time, in a tower near you,
Lived a sad princess; the Princess Sue.
"Some day," she sighed, "my prince will come,
But I wish he'd move his royal bum."


But when Princess Sue's prince finally does arrive, he's not quite what she had in mind. Find out how the feisty princess escapes the clutches of her twit of a prince in this funny, feminist twist on the traditional princess tale. Forget about pretty dresses, fairytale weddings and grand balls, Princess Sue is all about adventure, mischief and making unusual friends. She really is the worst princess!

An empowering picture book from the brilliant author Anna Kemp, with illustrations by Sara Ogilive, illustrator of The Detective Dog  perfect for fans of Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World, Princess Smartypants,Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and Ada Twist, Scientist.

‘Those sick of the cult of pink princesses will appreciate this quirky take on the traditional princess tale… A very funny new picture book’ The Bookseller Children's Buyers Guide
‘Told in verse, and wonderfully illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, this picture book is so funny it could be safely recommended for all ages’ The Independent on Sunday
‘Girl power is celebrated in this picture book that turns the princess role firmly on its head’ Waking Brain Cells blog
‘This book will remind young girls that it takes courage and determination to be oneself, even when going after one’s dreams or when beginning and ending friendships’ curled up with a good kid's book

About The Author

Anna Kemp

Anna Kemp writes both picture books and middle-grade fiction. Her books have been nominated for a number of prizes including the Booktrust Early Years Award (2010), The Roald Dahl Funny Prize (2010, 2012), The Waterstones Children's Book Prize (2011, 2013), Oscar's Book Prize (2015), and The Dundee Picture Book Award (2018). Her work has also been adapted for television (Bookaboo, CBeebies), puppetry (Little Angel), dance (Ballet Black), orchestra (LSO) and theatre (New Writing North, Little Blue Monster). She is currently working on new picture books and a middle-grade fantasy series.
 
Anna loves to visit schools and libraries and is available for festival events. Please see website for further information: https://annakemp-author.com

About The Illustrator

Sara Ogilvie is an illustrator and printmaker. She was the 2011 Booktrust Best New Illustrators Award winner and was shortlisted for the Best Emerging Illustrator Award 2010. Dogs Don’t Do Ballet, which she illustrated, was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2010 and the Booktrust Early Years Award 2010. Sara lives in lives in Newcastle upon Tyne in the North of England.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (April 26, 2012)
  • Length: 32 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781847388766
  • Ages: 3 and up

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Anna Kemp

More books from this illustrator: Sara Ogilvie