Skip to Main Content

The Search for the Shadowsoul

About The Book

A descendant of the great wizard Merlyn must atone for the harm he caused in this second adventure in the A Quest of Great Importance middle grade series that riffs on Arthurian legend in the vein of Adam Gidwitz and Amanda Foody!

The wizard Percy used to be sure of three things: he’s a magical prodigy, he’s destined to do extraordinary things (as prophesied by his ancestor, the wizard Merlyn), and he would do anything for his twin, Merlynda. But that was before Merlynda was revealed to be the subject of the prophecy, and before Percy became the Hollower, stealing magic for the wicked Morgan le Fey.

Six months have passed since Percy and Merlynda defeated the sorceress, but Percy hasn’t been able to reconcile who he is with what he’s done. And he carries a dark secret: despite her banishment, Morgan le Fey can still speak to him.

When the mysterious Round Table discovers newly Hollowed objects, Percy is blamed. He escapes on a quest to clear his name but also to make sure whoever is responsible never Hollows anyone again. Joined by Merlynda and Neci (now a royally dubbed knight), an anxious warlock (who seeks to break a curse), and a nonmagical sugar glider (who longs to be a familiar), Percy must defeat this new foe not only to face his past, but to decide what kind of wizard he’ll be in the future.

About The Author

Adriana J. Boyd

Callie C. Miller works in animation and has written for shows spanning the audience age from preschool to teen anime. Callie holds an MFA in writing for children and young adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and has twice placed in the Katherine Paterson Prize competition for her middle grade speculative fiction. Her books include The Hunt for the Hollower and The Search for the Shadowsoul.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Aladdin (September 17, 2024)
  • Length: 384 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665952347
  • Ages: 8 - 12

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Callie C. Miller

More books in this series: A Quest of Great Importance