Skip to Main Content

The Reformation

The Story of Civilization, Volume VI

About The Book

The Story of Civilization, Volume VI: A history of European civilization from Wyclif to Calvin: 1300–1564. This is the sixth volume of the classic, Pulitzer Prize–winning series.

An engrossing volume on the European Reformation by Pulitzer Prize–winning historian Will Durant

The sixth volume of Durant’s acclaimed Story of Civilization, The Reformation chronicles the history of European civilization from 1300 to 1564. In this masterful work, you will encounter:

-The schism within the Roman Catholic Church and the formation of early Protestantism
-The theology of Martin Luther and his societal impact
-The rise of Humanism and the life of Desiderius Erasmus
-The royal monarchies of England, France, Spain, and Italy
-The imperial conquests of Christopher Columbus and the discovery of the Americas
-The Bohemian revolution of Eastern Europe, the unification of Russia, and the rise of the Ottoman Empire
-The teachings of John Calvin
-The Counter-Reformation of the 16th century

About The Author

Photography by Billy Ray/Life Magazine © Time Inc.

Will Durant (1885–1981) was awarded the Pulitzer Prize (1968) and the Presidential Medal of Freedom (1977). He spent more than fifty years writing his critically acclaimed eleven-volume series, The Story of Civilization (the later volumes written in conjunction with his wife, Ariel). A champion of human rights issues, such as the brotherhood of man and social reform, long before such issues were popular, Durant’s writing still educates and entertains readers around the world. 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (June 7, 2011)
  • Length: 1027 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781451647631

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

  • Author Photo (jpg): Will Durant
    Photography by Billy Ray/Life Magazine © Time Inc.
    (1.7 MB)

    Any use of an author photo must include its respective photo credit

More books from this author: Will Durant

More books in this series: The Story of Civilization