Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Pre-order THE SEEKER OF LOST PAINTINGS, ​a sophisticated and thrilling historical page-turner about love and art, coming October 2024.

‘A page-turning journey to uncover a past of heroism, betrayal, love, and loss’ Heather Morris, bestselling author of Sisters under the Rising Sun

'So compelling' Sunday Times

'A gorgeous debut' Heat

Two lovers caught at the crossroads of history
A daughter’s search for the truth

Germany, 1929.
When Max, a Jewish architect, and Bettina, a beautiful and celebrated German avant-garde artist, meet at a party their attraction is instant. In love with each other and the art they create, their talent transports them to the dazzling lights of Berlin. But Germany is on the brink of terrible change, and their bright beginning is soon dimmed by the rising threat of Nazism.

When Max is arrested and sent to the Dachau concentration camp, it is only his talent at making the exquisite porcelain figures so beloved by the Nazis that stands between him and certain death. At first, Bettina has no idea where Max has been taken but when she learns of his fate, she is determined to rescue him whatever the cost.

Now, a lifetime later, Bettina’s daughter, Clara, sets out on a journey to uncover the truth about her identity. As she weaves together the fabric of her past, she discovers the terrible secret her mother wanted hidden forever.

For fans of Heather Morris and Kristin Hannah, The Porcelain Maker is a sweeping, epic story of love, betrayal and art, set across Europe from the 1920s Weimar Republic, to dark and glittering 1930s Berlin.

About The Author

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (October 26, 2023)
  • Length: 384 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781398511798

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

In her exquisitely crafted and poignant debut, Sarah Freethy brings readers an unforgettable tale of love and loss. The Porcelain Maker introduces us to a singular, riveting relationship forged between a talented Jewish architect and a gifted German painter during the heady days of the Bauhaus movement in the Weimar Republic of Germany. As the dark tide of Nazism washes over the land, the lovers face dangers unimaginable, learning that art alone can sustain and save them - and bear witness for the generations. Phenomenal

Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Mitford Affair and coauthor of The Personal Librarian

‘Like the portrait of the Viking at the heart of her story, Sarah Freethy's The Porcelain Maker exists on two levels: on the surface, a story about a woman's search for the truth about her parentage, tracing the forgotten by the objects they left behind, and, beneath it, a heartbreaking story of beauty in the midst of brutality and love in an age of hate as two young artists fight to stay alive and together amid the horrors of Nazi rule in 1940s Germany. A story that will move and surprise you - and leave you reaching for the tissue box as the final details unfold

Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of Band of Sisters and the upcoming Two Wars and a Wedding

'Once I started reading The Porcelain Maker, I didn't want to stop . . . Freethy is brilliant as she weaves two time periods effortlessly into a page-turning journey to uncover a past of heroism, betrayal, love, and loss'

Heather Morris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Three Sisters

A standout novel of heartbreak, survival and hope in time of war. Gripping, beautifully written, The Porcelain Maker is destined to be a huge bestseller’

Rachel Hore, Sunday Times bestselling author of One Moonlit Night and A Beautiful Spy

'Sarah Freethy’s The Porcelain Maker is a compelling historical novel . . . Freethy deftly moves between two timelines, one which follows the woman’s search in the 1990s, and the other which tells the story of her mother, a visual artist in Germany in the 1930s. At the center of both stories lies a porcelain factory at Dachau and the delicate pieces which were produced there. Freethy’s wonderful details enrichen the narrative, allowing the characters and the artwork to come alive as the mystery is finally solved. A riveting and immersive novel, at the intersection of art and war'

Laura Spence-Ash, bestselling author of Beyond That, The Sea

'As detailed, delicate, beautiful, and brutal as the hidden porcelain Sarah Freethy conjures, this heart-rending debut intertwines real history and characters both noble and endearing into a story to live in, learn from, and love'

Meg Waite Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Postmistress of Paris

‘A searing and propulsive novel about bravery and betrayal, love and art. I was pulled into the story and swept along until the very end’
Claire Fuller, bestselling author of Bitter Orange

'With its well-researched plot, engaging characters, and dramatic twists, Freethy’s debut works as both a World War II love story and a testament to the ability of art to speak truth to power. Readers of Heather Morris and Kelly Rimmer will be captivated' Booklist

Sweeping and suspenseful, Sarah Freethy’s The Porcelain Maker tells a poignant story of love between two extraordinary individuals who meet in 1929 as Germany teeters on the brink of monumental change. Interweaving past events and long-buried secrets with a daughter’s search for the truth in the present, lifetimes of love, heartbreak and unthinkable decisions are related in page-turning style . . . Richly detailed on the art of porcelain making, and shot-through with emotion as dreadful experiences and secrets are revealed, The Porcelain Maker is a vivid, tense, suspenseful readLoveReading.co.uk

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images