Skip to Main Content

The Littlest Yak

The perfect book to snuggle up with at home!

Illustrated by Kate Hindley

About The Book

WINNER of Oscar's Book Prize 2021!

Perfect for fans of Rachel Bright and Julia Donaldson,
The Littlest Yak is a joyous, rhyming caper that teaches little ones to celebrate their own unique talents!

On the tip of the top of a mountain all snowy, where the ice-swirling, toe-curling blizzards were blowy, in a herd full of huddling yaks, big and small, lived Gertie . . . the littlest yak of them all.

Gertie is the littlest yak in her whole herd, and she's feeling stuck in her smallness - she wants to grow UP and have bigness and tallness!

But when it turns out that there are some things that only Gertie can do, might she come to see that she's perfect, just the way she is?

A rollicking, heartwarming and reassuring story about self-acceptance from debut author, Lu Fraser and much-loved illustrator, Kate Hindley.

Praise for Kate Hindley:
‘Hindley’s wintry art and characterful creatures shine in this heart-warming story’ The Bookseller (The Littlest Yak)
'Kate Hindley’s charming illustrations bring bouncing Bernard to groovy life' Mail on Sunday (Be More Bernard)
'Children will love the simplee, stylish illustrations and gorgeous fine detail' The i (Treacle Street: Marcel's Parcels)

About The Author

About The Illustrator

Kate Hindley is the much-loved illustrator of both picture books (including the award-winning You Must Bring a Hat, written by Simon Philip) and fiction (The Royal Rabbits of London, written by Santa Montefiore & Simon Sebag Montefiore), as well as the author-illustrator of new board book series, Treacle Street. She lives in Bristol.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (September 3, 2020)
  • Length: 32 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471182600
  • Ages: 3 - 99

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Lu Fraser

More books from this illustrator: Kate Hindley