The Escape

LIST PRICE £7.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:

About The Book

A compelling wartime drama for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dilly Court

'Yet another gripping, moving and impeccably researched read' Jill Mansell, author of This Could Change Everything

One winter morning in Germany in early 1945, Detta passes a group of exhausted British prisoners of war who are being force-marched westwards. One man catches her eye and she cannot forget him. The following day she receives an urgent message to contact the local priest: he needs her help. 
 
Miranda is a photography student in Berlin in 1989 as the Wall falls. Trapped in an abusive relationship, her one hope for escape is an old postcard of the village her grandmother, Detta, was born in. As Miranda flees through the rubble of the Berlin wall and into the East, she begins to suspect she’s being followed by the Stasi.
 
Two very different timelines; two women who share a history and a dark secret. Can they save each other now the time has come to reveal it?


Acclaim for Clare Harvey's novels:

'Had me enthralled' Kate Furnivall
‘Will delight all those who love a good wartime story’ Dilly Court
'A gripping story' Julie Cohen
'An exceptional talent' Kate Rhodes
'A triumph' Jill Mansell
'Heartwarming, enjoyable and full of surprises' Elizabeth Chadwick
‘A real page-turner’ Ellie Dean

About The Author

© Simon Buck

Clare Harvey is an ex-army wife. The Gunner Girl, her debut novel, was inspired by her mother-in-law's experience during WWII and written while her husband was on active service in Afghanistan. It won the Exeter Novel Prize in 2015 and the RNA Joan Hessayon Prize in 2016. She has since written The English Agent and The Night Raid. She lives in Nottingham with her family. Find out more on facebook - facebook.com/clareharvey13 - her website www.clareharvey.net or on twitter @clareharveyauth.
 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (January 2019)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471161896

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Clare Harvey