Skip to Main Content

The Bookshop of Second Chances

The most uplifting story of fresh starts and new beginnings you'll read this year!

LIST PRICE £14.40
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Set in a charming little Scottish town, The Bookshop of Second Chances is the most uplifting story you'll read this Winter, by a hugely talented debut author.
 
Thea’s having a bad month. Not only has she been made redundant, she’s also discovered her husband of nearly twenty years is sleeping with one of her friends. And he’s not sorry – he’s leaving.
 
Bewildered and lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But, when she learns the great-uncle she barely knew has died and left her his huge collection of second-hand books and a house in the Scottish Lowlands, she seems to have been offered a second chance.
 
Running away to a little town where no one knows her seems like exactly what Thea needs. But when she meets the aristocratic Maltravers brothers – grumpy bookshop owner Edward and his estranged brother Charles, Lord Hollinshaw – her new life quickly becomes just as complicated as the life she was running from...
 
An enchanting story of Scottish lords, second-hand books, new beginnings and second chances perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Veronica Henry, Rachael Lucas and Jenny Colgan.

.

Jackie Fraser is a freelance editor and writer. She's worked for AA Publishing, Watkins, the Good Food Guide, and various self-published writers of fiction, travel and food guides, recipe books and self-help books since 2012. Prior to that, she worked as an editor of food and accommodation guides for the AA, including the B&B Guide, Restaurant Guide, and Pub Guide for nearly twenty years, eventually running the Lifestyle Guides department.
 
She's interested in all kind of things, particularly history, (and prehistory) art, food, popular culture and music. She reads a lot, (no, really) in multiple genres, and is fascinated by the Bronze Age. She likes vintage clothes, antique fairs, and photography. She used to be a bit of a goth. She likes cats.
 

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK (November 19, 2020)
  • Runtime: 12 hours and 51 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781398501478

'How much do I love this book? So, so much. Refreshing and romantic, it's an absolute cracker!' 

– HEIDI SWAIN, Sunday Times bestselling author

'A gorgeous, tip-top, pitch-perfect romantic read - I loved it!' 

– RACHEL HORE, Sunday Times bestselling author

'The Bookshop of Second Chances has lifted my heart more than anything I’ve read for a very long time. It’s funny, clever, well written, warm, joyful and comforting. I could rave about it all day!' 

– IONA GREY, bestselling author of Letters to the Lost

'An escapist romance that glows with warmth! I loved it'

– CARMEL HARRINGTON, bestselling author of A Thousand Roads Home

'A real winner with so much heart and a wonderfully relatable heroine' 

– CHRISTINA PISHIRIS, author of Love Songs for Sceptics