Skip to Main Content

Something in the Water

The Gripping Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick!

LIST PRICE £4.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

*** THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND REESE WITHERSPOON BOOKCLUB 2018 PICK! ***
The perfect couple. The perfect crime? 
 
‘Deftly paced, elegantly chilly thriller … Steadman brings similar qualities of wit, timing and intelligence to this novel… a proper page-turner’ New York Times
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough; Mark a handsome investment banker with a bright future. They seem to have it all. But do they?

On a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, Mark takes Erin scuba diving. Everything is perfect. Until they find something in the water. Something that will change their lives forever. 

Erin and Mark decide to keep their discovery a secret. No one else need know; they trust each other implicitly.
 
But someone else does know. And in situations like these, it is far better to trust no one, not even those closest to you … 

Set to be the blockbuster read of the summer, this is an unmissable, fast-paced, jaw-dropping thriller from a debut writer destined for great things.
 
‘A wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!’ Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

‘Worthy of Hitchcock’ Sunday Times
 
‘Pure adrenaline: I swallowed this book whole’ Erin Kelly, author of He Said, She Said
 
‘A thriller for our times’ Louise Candlish, author of Our House
 
‘A stunning debut. Superbly written, clever and gripping’ BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors
 
‘A fascinating moral dilemma’ Gillian McAllister, author of Everything but the Truth
 
‘It was the relatability of Erin's voice that set it apart from so many other thrillers as it automatically got me thinking ‘What would I do in her position?’ Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies
 
 ‘A delicious page-turner’ New York Post

 ‘Catherine Steadman bursts onto the thriller scene with this exceptional debut psychological thriller, written in the vein of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn... Deftly plotted and told with lightning-quick pacing... Something in the Water is psychological suspense at its absolute finest, and Steadman has all the makings of a writer poised to shoot straight to the top of the genre' Book Spy

(c) Rachell Smith

Catherine Steadman is an actress and author based in London. She has appeared in leading roles on British and American television as well as on stage in the West End where she has been nominated for a Laurence Olivier Award. She grew up in the New Forest, Hampshire, and now lives in North London with her husband and daughter.

Catherine's first novel, Something in the Water, was a number one New York Times bestseller with rights sold in over 30 territories. It was selected as a Reese Witherspoon Book Club and Richard & Judy Book Club pick. Her second novel, Mr Nobody, was published in 2020, and her third novel, The Disappearing Act, published in 2021.

To find out more, find Catherine on Twitter and Instagram.
I: @catsteadman
T: @CatSteadman

More books from this author: Catherine Steadman