Something in the Water

The Gripping Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick!

LIST PRICE £4.99

About The Book

*** THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND REESE WITHERSPOON BOOKCLUB 2018 PICK! ***
The perfect couple. The perfect crime? 
 
‘Deftly paced, elegantly chilly thriller … Steadman brings similar qualities of wit, timing and intelligence to this novel… a proper page-turner’ New York Times
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough; Mark a handsome investment banker with a bright future. They seem to have it all. But do they?

On a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, Mark takes Erin scuba diving. Everything is perfect. Until they find something in the water. Something that will change their lives forever. 

Erin and Mark decide to keep their discovery a secret. No one else need know; they trust each other implicitly.
 
But someone else does know. And in situations like these, it is far better to trust no one, not even those closest to you … 

Set to be the blockbuster read of the summer, this is an unmissable, fast-paced, jaw-dropping thriller from a debut writer destined for great things.
 
‘A wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!’ Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

‘Worthy of Hitchcock’ Sunday Times
 
‘Pure adrenaline: I swallowed this book whole’ Erin Kelly, author of He Said, She Said
 
‘A thriller for our times’ Louise Candlish, author of Our House
 
‘A stunning debut. Superbly written, clever and gripping’ BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors
 
‘A fascinating moral dilemma’ Gillian McAllister, author of Everything but the Truth
 
‘It was the relatability of Erin's voice that set it apart from so many other thrillers as it automatically got me thinking ‘What would I do in her position?’ Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies
 
 ‘A delicious page-turner’ New York Post

 ‘Catherine Steadman bursts onto the thriller scene with this exceptional debut psychological thriller, written in the vein of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn... Deftly plotted and told with lightning-quick pacing... Something in the Water is psychological suspense at its absolute finest, and Steadman has all the makings of a writer poised to shoot straight to the top of the genre' Book Spy

About The Author

© Ori Jones

Catherine Steadman is an actress and writer based in North London. She is known for her roles in Downton Abbey and Tutankhamun, starring alongside Sam Neill, as well as shows including Breathless, The Inbetweeners, The Tudors, and Fresh Meat.

In 2017 Catherine will feature in political thriller Fearless and new BBC comedy Bucket. She also has appeared on stage in the West End including Oppenheimer for the RSC, for which she was nominated for a 2016 Laurence Olivier Award.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (June 2018)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471167201

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images