Skip to Main Content

About The Book

In this sisterly PS, I Love You, an introverted young woman is saddled with fulfilling her late sister’s final wish: completing her bucket list while millions of people follow along online.

Jodie Boyd is a shy and anxious twenty-something, completely unsure of what to do with her life. Meanwhile, her older sister, Bree, is an adventurous, globe-trotting Instagram influencer with more than a million followers. Bree is the most alive person Jodie knows – until her unfathomable, untimely death from leukaemia. The Boyds are devastated, not to mention overwhelmed with medical debt. But Bree had a plan, and soon Jodie is shocked when a new post appears on her sister's Instagram feed.

The first of many posts Bree recorded in secret, it contains a jaw-dropping challenge for Jodie: complete Bree's bucket list. From ‘fly over Antarctica’ to ‘fall in love’, if Jodie pulls it off – and keeps all of Bree’s followers – a corporate sponsor will pay off the crushing medical debt. It’s crazy. It’s terrifying. It’s impossible to refuse. So, despite her trepidation, Jodie plunges in, never imagining that in death, her sister will teach her how to live.

About The Author

Photo credit: Sia Duff

Amy T. Matthews is an award-winning author, an academic at Flinders University, and the co-host of the podcasts Word Docs and Love on Campus. Amy lives in Adelaide with a collection of beloved people both real and imagined, and you can find her on Instagram @amytmatthews_author.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia (May 9, 2024)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781761425028

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

‘Ideal as a summer read … Matthews cleverly combines grief, love and adventure in the age of influencers.’

The Mercury

‘Guaranteed to tug on the heartstrings, Someone Else’s Bucket List is a moving and bittersweet tale of embracing life after loss. Perfect for fans of Cecilia Ahern.’

Jessica Seaborn, author of Perfect-ish

‘This book has my whole heart. Heart-wrenching yet so life-affirming and hopeful, this story pulsates with love and will completely sweep you away. You'll want to savour every word in this book and hug it tightly once you're done. A balm for the soul.’

Karina May, author of Duck à l’Orange for Breakfast and Never Ever Forever

‘Somehow Someone Else's Bucket List is heart-wrenching and heartwarming at the same time. Although this richly layered story deals with grief over the loss of a much-loved sister, it is a story ultimately filled with hope; something we all need more of right now. Trust me, you want this novel on your 2024 must-read list!’

Rachael Johns, bestselling author of The Greatest Gift

‘Fans of Josie Silver and Cecelia Ahern will be taken by this story of joy after grief.’

Publishers Weekly

Someone Else’s Bucket List takes a poignant look at how the bonds of sisterhood can shape our lives.’

Namrata Patel, author of The Candid Life of Meena Dave

‘I loved Someone Else's Bucket List. It begins by breaking your heart then takes you by surprise by becoming uplifting and utterly galvanizing. Best of all, though, it's a stirring celebration of the power of sisterhood!’

Matt Cain, author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

‘Somebody Else’s Bucket List is a moving story about Jodie and Bree, two devoted sisters who each take extraordinary measures to help the other. Author Amy Matthews’s keen portrayal of grief and loss keeps the reader rooting for Jodie as she pushes out of her comfort zone to fulfill Bree’s dying wish. This life-affirming tale reminds us that happiness is possible if we find the courage to reach for it.’

Jamie Beck, author of The Beauty of Rain

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images