Skip to Main Content

About The Book

What if the Knights of the Round Table had a female counterpart? An epic Arthurian fantasy reimagining from the UK’s leading and bestselling feminist writer, Laura Bates, for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas.

'An interesting thing happens, when a man is defeated in combat by a woman . . . He tells nobody.'

Destined for an arranged marriage, Cass dreams of freedom. So when a fierce and beautiful leather‑clad woman rides up and offers to take her away, Cass doesn’t hesitate to join her. She is introduced to the Sisters of Sword and Shadow - a group of female knights training to fight, protect their community and right the wrongs of men. Drawn into a world of ancient feuds, glorious battles, and deadly intrigue, Cass soon discovers she holds a power that could change not only her own fate but that of her entire sisterhood.

Introducing Laura Bates' fantasy debut, the first in a breathtaking and sweeping duology, exploring questions about power, courage and the stories we tell about the past.

Praise for Sisters of Sword and Shadow:

Sisters of Sword and Shadow is absolutely brilliant. Beautiful, fierce, and furious - full of the power and magic of sisterhood in every sense. I loved it.’ Katherine Webber, bestselling author of Twin Crowns

‘An empowering and courageous tale of a daring sisterhood in which true chivalry means fighting for what you believe in.’ Bea Fitzgerald, bestselling author of Girl, Goddess, Queen

‘A dazzling tale of courage, power and sisterhood, with a heroine to truly root for. I loved every breathtaking minute of this fierce, feminist epic fantasy.’ Catherine Doyle, bestselling author of Twin Crowns

About The Author

Photograph © Siggi Holm

Laura Bates studied English at Cambridge University and went on to be a freelance journalist. She has written for the Guardian, the Independent, the New Statesman, Red Magazine and Grazia among others. She is also contributor at Women Under Siege, a New-York based organisation working to combat the use of sexual violence as a tool of war in conflict zones worldwide. She is the founder of the Everyday Sexism Project.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (June 20, 2024)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471187599
  • Ages: 14 - 99

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Laura Bates