Skip to Main Content

Light After Loss

Published by Viva Editions
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

From the office of seasoned grief counselor Ashley Davis Bush, Light After Loss is an essential guide to grief. Based off Bush's seminal “Transcending Loss” grief model, this book provides an inclusive spiritual light to illuminate the darkness and set you on a healthy course of navigating the lifelong journey of integrating loss into life. 

Grieving is a universal yet disorienting and devastating experience. But like the ancient Japanese artform of kintsugi which repairs broken pottery with golden lacquer, grief is healed by filling the cracks in your life with light, creating beauty from brokenness. Embracing a higher perspective makes the journey more bearable, the experience more meaningful, and the future more expansive.


— Advice on how a spiritual perspective can accelerate your personal healing, offering specific ways to soothe a broken spirit. 

— Five specific “Light-Shift Practices” that integrate concepts and facilitate the healing process at the end of each chapter.

— Tips on the shift process: a redirection from pain and suffering to the sacred qualities of compassion, love, connection, gratitude and transformation.

Ashley Davis Bush, LCSW is a psychotherapist with thirty years of experience in the mental health field. She is the author of ten self-help books, including the classic Transcending Loss and the Daily Reader, Hope and Healing for Transcending Loss. She is also a trained spiritual director and Reiki master with a specialization in contemplative practices. Ashley founded the Antigua Threshold Singers, a chapter of the Threshold Choir, who sing for dying patients on the threshold between life and death. She and her husband, also a psychotherapist, divide their time between New Hampshire and Guatemala. They have five grown children.

  • Publisher: Viva Editions (July 12, 2022)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781632281333