I'm Bored

With Audio Recording

Illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
(Part of The I'm Books)
LIST PRICE £6.99
About The Book

There is NOTHING boring about being a kid, but one little girl is going to have to prove it in this anything-but-boring eBook with audio from comedian Michael Ian Black.

Just when a little girl thinks she couldn’t possibly be more bored, she stumbles upon a potato who turns the tables on her by declaring that children are boring. But this girl isn’t going to let a vegetable tell her what’s what, so she sets out to show the unimpressed potato all the amazing things kids can do. Too bad the potato is anything but interested….
This tongue-in-cheek twist on a familiar topic is sure to entertain anyone who’s ever been bored—or had to hear about someone else being bored—and is filled with comedian Michael Ian Black’s trademark dry wit, accompanied by charismatic illustrations from newcomer Debbie Ridpath Ohi.

About The Author
© Natalie Brasington

Michael Ian Black is a writer, comedian, and actor who currently appears on Another PeriodThe Jim Gaffigan Show, and Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp. He created and starred in many television series, including Michael and Michael Have IssuesStella, and The State. He wrote the screenplay for the film Run, Fatboy, Run and wrote and directed the film Wedding Daze. Michael regularly tours the country as a stand-up comedian and is the bestselling author of the book My Custom Van (and 50 Other Mind-Blowing Essays That Will Blow Your Mind All Over Your Face), the memoir You’re Not Doing It Right, and the children’s books Chicken CheeksThe Purple KangarooA Pig Parade Is a Terrible IdeaI’m BoredNaked!, and Cock-a-Doodle-Doo-Bop. Michael lives in Connecticut with his wife and two children.

About The Illustrator
Photograph by Beckett Gladney

Debbie Ridpath Ohi is the author of Where Are My Books?. Her illustrations also appear in Sea Monkey and Bob, written by Aaron Reynolds; I’m Bored (New York Times Notable Book) and Naked!, written by Michael Ian Black; as well as ten Judy Blume chapter books and middle grade titles. For more info, visit DebbieOhi.com or @InkyElbows on Twitter.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (September 2012)
  • Length: 40 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781442453258
  • Grades: P - 3
  • Ages: 3 - 8

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

* "Black (A Pig Parade Is a Terrible Idea) keeps this simple concept funny all the way through its final, LOL zinger. Debut illustrator Ohi’s minimalist, scraggly digital drawings are anything but boring, and speak volumes about irritation, desperation, and disdain."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Genuinely funny moments.... [The girl] demonstrates cartwheels, ninja kicks and imagination games—lion taming; dragons and swords; forcing the potato to walk a pirate-ship plank—all of which Ohi sketches in pale blue."--Kirkus Reviews

"Ohi’s captivating, digitally created illustrations are full of wit and charm.... Quirky and fun to read aloud, this book is a sure antidote for cases of ennui."

– School Library Journal

A Notable Children's Book Of 2012

– The New York Times Sunday Book Review

"[Michael Ian] Black, a comedian, has become a fine children's book storyteller.... Readers will not be bored."

– The New York Times Book Review

"Beautifully written by Michael Ian Black and gorgeously illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi... It has the courage to go unfashionably old-school and suggest that our imagination, not our gadgets, is the only cure [for boredom].... Both the writing and the illustrations are fearless."

– The Globe & Mail

"Fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie series will delight in the latest book by American comedian Michael Ian Black, illustrated by Toronto graphic artist Debbie Ridpath Ohi. Echoing Willems, Black’s story is constructed around the dialogue of an unlikely couple, in this case a small girl and a potato. The text is perfectly complemented by Ohi’s quirky minimalist drawings."

– Quill & Quire

"Sometimes a picture book gets it just right. And by 'it,' I mean clever concept, smart execution and all-around child-friendly vibe. It’s rare for one of those picture books to have been written by a so-called celebrity author—someone who made a name for him or herself in Hollywood and then decided to write children’s books—but Michael Ian Black has proven to be the exception to the rule."

– Julie Danielson, Kirkus Reviews blog

"Black...tells his story in sprightly fashion. The illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi convincingly draws a child full of life, a potato full of — well, potatotude, and computer drawings that look just like good old-fashioned linocuts. Her smart cartoony artwork matches Black’s perfect comic timing, making for a fun ride that should leave you amused, perhaps pensive, and no longer bored."

– The New York Times Sunday Book Review

Awards and Honors
  • Missouri Building Block Picture Book Award Master List
  • New York Times Book Review Notable Books
Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Michael Ian Black

More books from this illustrator: Debbie Ridpath Ohi

More books in this series: The I'm Books