About The Book

'Reads like a house on fire' - the extraordinary new novel by Iain Reid, the acclaimed author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things
 
You think you know everything about your life.
 
Long-married couple Junior and Henrietta live a quiet, solitary life on their farm, where they work at the local feed mill and raise chickens. Their lives are simple, straightforward, uncomplicated.

Until everything you think you know collapses.

Until the day a stranger arrives at their door with alarming news: Junior has been chosen to take an extraordinary journey, a journey across both time and distance, while Hen remains at home. Junior will be gone for years. But Hen won't be left alone.

Who can you trust if you can't even trust yourself?
 
As the time for his departure draws nearer, Junior finds himself questioning everything about his life - even whether it's really his life at all.

 An eerily entrancing page-turner, Foe churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale. Perfect for fans of Humans, Westworld and Black Mirror, Foe is a book you will never forget.

*** Praise for FOE ***
 
‘I couldn’t put it down.  It infected my dreams. A creepy and brilliant book’      Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People
 
‘From the opening page, you’ll have an uneasy feeling as you settle into Iain Reid’s brilliant new novel.. A masterful and breathtakingly unique read. I can’t stop thinking about it ‘   Amy Stuart, author of Still Mine and Still Water
 
Spare, consuming, unforgettable.   Foe is a dark arrow from a truly original mind.  Page by eerie page, Iain Reid pulls the unknown world out from under you, and leaves you trapped inside a marriage’s most haunting question: can I be replaced? This is a book that seeps into your bloodstream – and crowns Iain Reid the king of deadpan, philosophical horror’    Claudia Dey, author of Heartbreaker

‘Movie producers are simply confirming what the literary community already knows: Iain Reid just might be the most exciting and excitingly unclassifiable author working in Canadian fiction today’  - The Globe and Mail (Canada)

‘Foe reads like a house on fire, and is almost impossible not to finish in one sitting...an otherworldly hothouse of introversion and fantasy’  – The Toronto Star

 

About The Author

Photograph by Lucas Tingle

Iain Reid is the author of two critically acclaimed, award-winning books of nonfiction. His internationally bestselling debut novel, I’m Thinking of Ending Things, has been published in more than twenty countries. Oscar-winner Charlie Kaufman is writing and directing a film based on the novel, which Reid will co-produce. His second novel, Foe, was an instant bestseller and feature film rights have been acquired by Anonymous Content, with Reid set to executive produce. Follow him on Twitter @Reid_Iain.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (September 2018)
  • Length: 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471177972

Awards and Honors

  • Paul's Pick

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images