Skip to Main Content

Allow Me to Introduce Myself

Published by Magpie
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

'Dark, entertaining and addictive' Stylist, 'Best Books of May'

'Clever and perceptive' Daily Mail

A Grazia 'Hot New Novel' pick'

HER LIFE. HER RULES. FINALLY.

A page-turning novel about the dark side of social media, perfect for fans of The List or How to Kill Your Family.

Anuri Chinasa has had enough. She was the unwilling star of her stepmother’s social media empire before 'mumfluencers' were even a thing. For years, Ophelia documented every birthday, every skinned knee, every milestone and meltdown for millions of strangers to fawn over and pick apart.

Now twenty-five years old, Anuri is desperate to escape her public past and start living on her own terms. But so far, it’s not going well. She can barely walk down the street without being recognised, her PhD application is still unfinished and her drinking problem is getting worse. She wants her stepmother out of her life, but Ophelia has made it very clear she won’t let go without a fight.

But when Ophelia starts pushing Anuri's five-year-old sister, Noelle, down a similar path, she reaches breaking point. Anuri won't watch history repeat itself.

Allow Me to Introduce Myself is a darkly funny, heartfelt satire about the dangers of social media and the deceptive allure of the picture-perfect existence.

'Nwabineli is one to watch' Red Magazine

About The Author

Onyi Nwabineli is a Nigerian-British writer. Born in Benin, Nigeria, she grew up in Glasgow, the Isle of Man and Newcastle, and now lives in London. Onyi is the co-founder of Surviving Out Loud, a fund that provides financial support for survivors of sexual assault, and the founder of Black Pens, a writing retreat for Black women. Her debut novel, Someday, Maybe, was published by Magpie in 2022, was a Good Morning America and Book of the Month Club Pick, and was shortlisted for the Diverse Book Awards.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Magpie (May 23, 2024)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780861546886

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

'Nwabineli's second novel is a dark, entertaining and addictive exploration of mumfluencers – and the impact it has on their children.' Stylist

'I especially enjoyed the glamour: the Mayfair penthouse, the huge Hampstead home. This contemporary drama is clever and perceptive.' Daily Mail

'Allow Me to Introduce Myself is a sharp, poignant and insightful read.' Oyinkan Braithwaite, author of My Sister, the Serial Killer

'An unputdownable read! Skilfully and delicately written, Allow Me to Introduce Myself helps us behave more ethically in this age of social media obsessions. Onyi Nwabineli is an immensely talented writer whose pen is sharp and unflinching.' Nguy?n Phan Qu? Mai, internationally best-selling author of The Mountains Sing and Dust Child

'Rich with emotion, heartbreaking, and timely. A fresh and compelling perspective on living online.' Peace Adzo Medie, author of Nightbloom

'This timely, gripping novel establishes Nwabineli as a writer with the emotional insight to tackle heavy topics in a skilled and thoughtful manner.' Booklist

'Tack-sharp, beautifully told... Nwabineli is the queen of flawlessly blending serious topics with witty, contemporary prose. Her way with words is an incredible gift.' Lola Akinmade Åkerström, author of In Every Mirror She's Black

'I loved everything about this book, from the original portrayal of social media and influencer culture, to the excellent humour... Wise, captivating and unforgettable.' Ore Agbaje-Williams, author of The Three of Us

'Peppered with wry observations about life and humanity... This novel tells a moving, thought-provoking story that interrogates the toxic and parasocial dynamics associated with influencing.' Kirkus (starred review)

'Quick-witted, thought-provoking, and very, very readable... Really great writing, and an unusual, engaging and provocative idea for a story.' Bookbag

'Onyi Nwabineli is a writer we think everyone should know about, providing a refreshing and insightful exploration of identity, culture, and belonging in today's world... You will not be able to put this down.' Glamour Magazine, 'Best New Books of May 2024'

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Onyi Nwabineli