Skip to Main Content

A More Just Future

Psychological Tools for Reckoning with Our Past and Driving Social Change

About The Book

In the vein of Think Again and Do Better, a revolutionary, “welcome, and urgent invitation” (Angela Duckworth, #1 New York Times bestselling author) to explore the emotional relationship we have with our country’s complicated and whitewashed history so that we can build a better future.

As we grapple with news stories about our country’s racial fault lines, our challenge is not just to learn about the past, but also to cope with the “belief grief” that unlearning requires. If you are on the emotional journey of reckoning with the past, such as the massacre of Black Americans in Tulsa, the killing of Native American children in compulsory “residential schools” designed to destroy their culture, and the incarceration of Japanese Americans, you are not alone. The seeds of today’s inequalities were sown in past events like these. The time to unlearn the whitewashed history we believed was true is now.

As historians share these truths, we will need psychologists to help us navigate the shame, guilt, disbelief, and despair many of us feel. In A More Just Future, Dolly Chugh, award-winning professor, social psychologist, and author of the acclaimed The Person You Mean to Be, invites us to dismantle the systems built by our forebearers and work toward a more just future.

Through heartrending personal histories and practical advice, Chugh gives us the psychological tools we need to grapple with the truth of our country with “one of the most moving and important behavioral science books of the last decade” (Katy Milkman, author of How to Change).

About The Author

Photograph by Jeannie Ashton.

Dolly Chugh is a Harvard educated, award-winning social psychologist at the NYU Stern School of Business, where she is an expert researcher in the psychology of good people. In 2018, she delivered the popular TED Talk “How to let go of being a ‘good’ person and become a better person.” She is the author of A More Just Future and The Person You Mean to Be. Find out more at DollyChugh.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (November 21, 2024)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982157616

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“A vulnerable, compassionate, and pragmatic psychological guide to facing the darkest corners of America’s past.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Marked by its authenticity and sense of encouragement, this is a welcome look at how the average person can help fulfill America’s promise.”

Publishers Weekly

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images