The Worst Princess

The Worst Princess

Illustrated by: Sara Ogilvie
For Ages: 3 - 99
Once upon a time, in a tower near you,
Lived a sad princess; the Princess Sue.
"Some day," she sighed, "my prince will come,
But I wish he'd move his royal bum."

But when Princess Sue's prince finally does arrive, he's not quite what she had in mind. Find out how the feisty princess escapes the clutches of her twit of a prince in this funny, feminist twist on the traditional princess tale. Forget about pretty dresses, fairytale weddings and grand balls, Princess Sue is all about adventure, mischief and making unusual friends. She really is the worst princess!

An empowering picture book from the brilliant author Anna Kemp, with illustrations by Sara Ogilive, illustrator of The Detective Dog  perfect for fans of Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World, Princess Smartypants,Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and Ada Twist, Scientist.

‘Those sick of the cult of pink princesses will appreciate this quirky take on the traditional princess tale… A very funny new picture book’ The Bookseller Children's Buyers Guide
‘Told in verse, and wonderfully illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, this picture book is so funny it could be safely recommended for all ages’ The Independent on Sunday
‘Girl power is celebrated in this picture book that turns the princess role firmly on its head’ Waking Brain Cells blog
‘This book will remind young girls that it takes courage and determination to be oneself, even when going after one’s dreams or when beginning and ending friendships’ curled up with a good kid's book
  • Simon & Schuster Children's UK | 
  • 32 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781847388766 | 
  • April 2012
List Price £6.99 (price may vary by retailer)


To download a file to your computer right-click on the link and choose 'save file as'

High Resolution Images

Any use of an author photo must include its respective photo credit

More Books from this Author

Sir Lilypad
The Great Brain Robbery
Fantastic Frankie and the Brain-Drain Machine
Rhinos Don't Eat Pancakes

About the Author

Anna Kemp
Anna Kemp

Anna Kemp

Anna Kemp grew up on a street with a gang of kids and spent her childhood sticker-swapping, playing Pac-man, and coordinating BMX displays. She was a bit of a late reader but now reads a lot in her job at Oxford University where she works on contemporary French literature. Her first picture book, Dogs Don’t Do Ballet, was published in 2010. Fantastic Frankie and the Brain-Drain Machine was her first young fiction title and published in 2011.