The Outcasts of Time

The Outcasts of Time

From the author described by The Times as ‘the most remarkable historian of our time’ comes a stunningly high-concept novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.
 
John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.
 
As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

What readers are saying:
 
‘Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection’ Sara Marsden
 
The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read’ Ophelia’s Reads
  • Simon & Schuster Audio UK | 
  • ISBN 9781471166693 | 
  • June 2017
List Price £18.99

Resources

To download a file to your computer right-click on the link and choose 'save file as'

High Resolution Images

About the Author

Ian Mortimer

Ian Mortimer is the author of the bestselling Time Traveller's Guide series. He is an experienced lecturer and public speaker and regularly appears at literary festivals around the country. He is also writes for the media.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US