Skip to Main Content

Rough Country

About The Book

**Don't miss John Sandford's brand-new thriller Ocean Prey – out now**

The third Virgil Flowers novel by internationally bestselling author John Sandford.

While competing in a fishing tournament in a remote area of northern Minnesota, Virgil Flowers gets a call from his old friend Lucas Davenport to investigate a murder at a nearby resort, where a woman has been shot while kayaking. The resort is for women only: a place to relax, get fit, commune with nature, and sometimes get to know each other a little better.

As Flowers begins investigating, he finds a web of connections between the people at the resort, the victim, and some local women: notably a talented country singer. And the more he digs, the more he discovers a multitude of motivations for murder: jealousy, greed, anger, and blackmail.

And then Flowers learns that this is not the first death at this particular resort. Someone else died there a year ago. And there's about to be a third, definitely related death, any time now.

And as for the fourth . . . well, Virgil better hope he can catch the killer before that happens.

Because it could be his own. 

* * * Praise for John Sandford and the Virgil Flower novels * * *

‘A superior series’ Booklist (starred review) 

‘Outstanding’ Publishers Weekly (starred review) 

‘Perfect entertainment’ Kirkus Reviews 

‘Add a gripping storyline, a generous helping of exquisitely conceived characters and laugh-out-loud humor that produce explosive guffaws, not muted chuckles, and you’re in for the usual late-night, don’t-even-think-of-stopping treat when Flowers hits town’ Richmond Times-Dispatch 


About The Author

John Sandford is the author of twenty-four Prey novels; the Virgil Flowers novels, most recently Storm Front; and six other books. He lives in New Mexico.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (August 17, 2023)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781398512139

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: John Sandford