Riverwatcher

A Fly-Fishing Mystery

LIST PRICE £9.53
About The Book

Lottery winner and ex-journalist Donal Fitzgerald joins forces with his girlfriend, DNR conservation officer Mercy Virdon, to solve the mysterious death of a beloved angler, Charlie, who was murdered in his tent in a state campground and who was known by all—and who may have known too much. Set in the engaging small town of Ossning on the Borchard River in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula—an angler’s dream, filled with eccentric, believable, sympathetic, and unforgettable characters—Riverwatcher is a classic whodunit. Fitzgerald and Mercy’s investigation to discover the deadly secret among the locals leads to dead ends until a surprisingly bookish theory surfaces. Weber expertly weaves this character-driven novel with a strong sense of place, creating a great yarn for anglers and mystery lovers and, as it turns out, a literally literary mystery.  

Product Details
  • Publisher: Skyhorse (April 2013)
  • Length: 256 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781626362925
Raves and Reviews

“Even those who can’t tell a Royal Coachman from a Wooly Bugger will have fun.” —Publishers Weekly

“The motive Fitzgerald eventually uncovers . . . is ingenious and convincing, but the real lure, apart from the hook for readers who are serious anglers, is the unruffled sense of small-town life uncomplicated by any particularly interesting individual characters.” —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Aluminum Hatch:

"A strong mystery, realistic dialogue, well-timed wit, vivid descriptions of outdoor life, and best of all, two beguiling stars in Mercy and Fitzgerald. Even villains and the sheriff are believable and intelligent. This agile mystery will appeal to readers who like Gregory Bean, Bill Tapply, or Dana Stabenow; to anglers, canoeists, and Thoreau fans; and to anyone who likes Calvin Trillin's affectionate views of small towns." —Booklist

"Hatch reads well, is true to the genre." —Fly Rod & Reel

Praise for Catch and Keep:

"Quirky characters, a temperamental setting, and solid prose make this a pleasing sequel for fans." —Library Journal

“Even those who can’t tell a Royal Coachman from a Wooly Bugger will have fun.” —Publishers Weekly

“The motive Fitzgerald eventually uncovers . . . is ingenious and convincing, but the real lure, apart from the hook for readers who are serious anglers, is the unruffled sense of small-town life uncomplicated by any particularly interesting individual characters.” —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Aluminum Hatch:

"A strong mystery, realistic dialogue, well-timed wit, vivid descriptions of outdoor life, and best of all, two beguiling stars in Mercy and Fitzgerald. Even villains and the sheriff are believable and intelligent. This agile mystery will appeal to readers who like Gregory Bean, Bill Tapply, or Dana Stabenow; to anglers, canoeists, and Thoreau fans; and to anyone who likes Calvin Trillin's affectionate views of small towns." —Booklist

"Hatch reads well, is true to the genre." —Fly Rod & Reel

Praise for Catch and Keep:

"Quirky characters, a temperamental setting, and solid prose make this a pleasing sequel for fans." —Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images