Skip to Main Content

Pizazz vs the New Kid

The super awesome new superhero series!

Book #2 of Pizazz

The super (like, actually, with powers and stuff) series from the amazingly talented Sophy Henn, award-winning author and illustrator of Bad Nana! The perfect read for children aged 7, 8, 9 and upwards, and for fans of Dork Diaries, Tom Gates, Amelia Fang, Wimpy Kid and Dog Man.

“A SPECTACULAR superhero story that fizzes with fun on every page!”  – Liz Pichon, bestselling author of the TOM GATES series.


BEING A SUPERHERO IS THE BEST THING EVER, RIGHT? WRONG!

HELLO! My name is PIZAZZ and I’m a superhero . . . You probably think that’s really AWESOME, and while it can be, it’s also REEEEEEEAAALLLLY annoying.

I guess it was sort of going OK (I say, “sort of” – I still have to wear a silly cape and save the world all the time) until this NEW KID showed up, and started WOWING everyone with their super powers. Yep, SUPER POWERS – just what this town needs, another super . . . Who just happens to have the coolest name ever: Jett.

And now, because of Serena and her gang of Populars, I have to compete against Jett in an almighty and ultimate SUPER-OFF.

But it’s fine. I mean, even if I lose, there’s space for two SUPERS in this school, isn’t there?!

Hilariously narrated by reluctant superhero Pizazz, and brimming with Sophy’s distinctive illustrations and comic-book strips.
 
PRAISE for PIZAZZ:
“Blocky comic-style panels, a fire-farting granddad and a conservationist message make for accessible, quirky reading” – Guardian, Children’s Book of the Month
“Sophy Henn’s funny new series […] a witty and original reminder that superheroes are human too” – Sunday Times, Children’s Book of the Week
“Full-page illustrations, comic-strip sequences, quirky typography and dramatic chapter openers ensure this book will appeal to more reluctant readers” – The i
“Sophy Henn’s lively, energetic story should be a hit with anyone who finds it hard to fit in” –  Financial Times 
“Perfect for fans of her previous series Bad Nana, with the same level of illustration and zany text throughout” – Booktrust

Sophy Henn is an award-winning picture book author and illustrator with a master’s in illustration from the University of Brighton. She is the creator of the much-loved Bad Nana series, the Pom Pom series, the Ted board book series, and the nonfiction titles Lifesize and Lifesize Dinosaurs, among others. Her debut picture book Where Bear? was nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. Sophy was the World Book Day Illustrator in 2015 and 2016.

A SPECTACULAR superhero story that fizzes with fun on every page!

– Liz Pichon

Blocky comic-style panels, a fire-farting granddad and a conservationist message make for accessible, quirky reading

– Children’s Book of the Month, Guardian

Sophy Henn’s funny new series […] a witty and original reminder that superheroes are human too

– Children’s Book of the Week, Sunday Times

Full-page illustrations, comic-strip sequences, quirky typography and dramatic chapter openers ensure this book will appeal to more reluctant readers

– The i

Sophy Henn’s lively, energetic story should be a hit with anyone who finds it hard to fit in

– Financial Times

Perfect for fans of her previous series Bad Nana, with the same level of illustration and zany text throughout

– Booktrust

More books from this author: Sophy Henn

More books in this series: Pizazz