Flower Moon

LIST PRICE £8.49
About The Book

Tally Jo and Tempest Trimble are mirror twins, so alike they were almost born the same person. Inseparable, but more than that. Connected.

That is, until this summer. The twins are traveling with Pa Charlie’s carnival just like always, but there’s a new distance between them. Tempest is so caught up in her own ideas, she doesn’t seem to have space left in her life for Tally. And, more than that, Tally’s started to notice there’s something between them. Something real, growing with the phases of the moon, pushing them apart. Sparking, sputtering, wild. Dangerous.

With the full moon approaching, Tally knows it’s up to her to find out what’s going on—and to beat it. If she can’t, she might just lose her sister. Forever.

For fans of Savvy and A Snicker of Magic, this is a spellbinding story of friendship and family—a poignant ode to both what’s worth holding on to and what we have to let go.

About The Author

Gina Linko has a graduate degree in creative writing from DePaul University, and is also the author of young adult novels Flutter and Indigo. Gina edits college textbooks as a day job, but her real passion is sitting down at a blank computer screen and asking herself the question, “What if...?” She lives outside of Chicago, Illinois, with her husband and three children.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Sky Pony (January 2018)
  • Length: 256 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781510722750
  • Grades: 4 - 8
  • Ages: 8 - 12

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Flower Moon has all the fun of a traveling carnival—it’s sweet as cotton candy and hold-on-tight scary like the Scrambler. At heart, this engaging, winsome story of mirror twins who suddenly repel each other is about friendship, family, and finding your true strength. Tally, Tempest, and their own exhilarating brand of magic spark and crackle.” —C. K. Kelly Martin, author of Stricken and I Know it’s Over

“A heartwarming story about the power of sisters and the journey of self-discovery, Flower Moon has mystery, magic, and spirit on every page. I loved Tally and her carnivalesque family’s adventures!” —Elsie Chapman, author of Dualed and Along the Indigo

“Deep, complex, and beautiful . . . like sisterhood itself.” —Elana K. Arnold, author of A Boy Called Bat and The Question of Miracles

“A lovely story that's as thrilling as a carnival ride and salty-sweet as kettle corn.” —Natalie Standiford, author of The Secret Tree

“A delightful tale of warmhearted characters and crackling summer magic.” —Sally J. Pla, author of The Someday Birds

“A gorgeous ode to the transcendent power of sisterhood, painted in words as magical as the tale they tell.” —Sarvenaz Tash, author of The Mapmaker and the Ghost and The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love

“Science and the supernatural collide and commingle in a unique exploration of impossible true things and the magic inside of everyone. Flower Moon is sure to enchant.” Foreword Reviews, starred review

“Linko crafts a satisfying coming of age tale . . . Fans of Frozen in particular will devour this celebration of love between sisters”
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Tension between science and magic boosts interest and strengthens the theme. Even singleton readers will relate to the difficulties of growing up and growing apart.” Kirkus Reviews

“Tally and her folksy, lively narrative [make] fantastical events ring true. Supporting characters, both carny folk and relatives, come across as fresh, as well. Readers will race through this.” Booklist

“A quirky read perfect for those fascinated by twins.” School Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images