Skip to Main Content

Fantastic Creatures of the Mountains and Seas

A Chinese Classic

Illustrated by Siyu Chen / Translated by Howard Goldblatt

The gorgeously illustrated contemporary edition of an ancient Chinese text—for fans of fantastic beasts everywhere
 
Fantastic Creatures of the Mountains and Seas is a new translation for contemporary readers of a classic Chinese text that is at once the geography of an ancient world, a bestiary of mythical creatures, and a book of cultural and medicinal lore. Illustrated throughout with more than 180 two-color drawings that are so sinuous they move on the page, it is a work for lovers of fantasy and mythology, ancient knowledge, fabulous beasts, and inspired art.
 
The beings catalogued within these pages come from the regions of the known world, from the mountains and seas, the Great Wastelands, and the Lands Within the Seas that became China. They include spirits and deities and all sorts of strange creatures—dragons and phoenixes, hybrid beasts, some with human features, some hideous or with a call like wood splitting, or that portend drought or flood or bounty; others whose flesh cures disease or fends off nightmares, or whose pelt guarantees many progeny.
 
Drawn from The Classic of Mountains and Seas, Fantastic Creatures is the work of two members of China's millennial generation, a young scholar and writer once known as the youngest "Genius of Chinese Cultural Studies" and an inspired illustrator trained in China and the United States, who together managed to communicate with the soul of a 4,000-year-old beast and have brought forth its strange beauty. Their work has been rendered into English by the foremost translator of modern Chinese literature in the West.

  • Publisher: Arcade (July 8, 2021)
  • Length: 376 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781950691388

“An essential read for anyone interested in fantastical creatures, perfect for fans of Borges’ Book of Imaginary Beings and countless role-playing game bestiaries alike.”—Booklist, starred review

More books from this author: Anonymous